Local health care soapbox

September 26, 2009 at 8:59 am 2 comments

I just need to vent. If you aren’t local to Temecula area, or even if you are, this may not be for you. But I have to say after my family’s little adventure last night that the health care “system” in our area leaves a great deal to be desired.

Sarah has been struggling with a horrible cough ever since the sickness rolled through our house. (By they way, Matt was tested for Swine flu and it came out negative. Just your ordinary human flu.) Last night, she decided she needed to see a doctor to get a cough medicine to help her fight the cough just so she could sleep through the night (at least as well as she used to). Our regular doctor had already left for the day from his office, so he’s pretty well useless. So she went to what they call an “Urgent Care” center here in Temecula. What a joke! They can’t do any testing – xrays, blood work even an EKG. You have to be kidding me. It should be called a walk-in clinic cause it’s nothing more than a doctor’s office that doesn’t take appointments!

Anyway, back to the adventure. Apparently Sarah’s heart was acting very strange and it concerned him greatly. I have to say that at this point, that I am not convinced that this guy is really a doctor. If he is, he must have only just barely passed medical school. Maybe it should say what a doctor’s grades are RIGHT ON THEIR DIPLOMA AND LICENSE. They should even have to put it in their phone book ads and signs. Why do I think the guy is a pre-pubescent imbecile? The final diagnosis is Pneumonia. HELLO? Even I knew that and the closest I have come to a medical degree is reading a Michael Crichton novel! I have been saying that she probably has Pneumonia (she gets it every year or so when she’s smoking). But this welp couldn’t diagnose Pneumonia. He thought she had some crazy heart failure. Nice. Scare the hell out of a sleep deprived woman who just wanted something to make her stop coughing long enough to catch a few hours of sleep.

So, instead of going to see the movie I had purchased a ticket for, we all went to the “Emergency Room” in Murrieta, arriving just before 9 PM. Uh yeah. If you live around here and have one of those “I might be about to die” emergencies, don’t go there. You probably won’t make it. The process of just getting into the place will likely kill you. They have been working on building a new facility for a long time now and still haven’t managed to move into it. But to get to the Emergency entrance you have to drive around the new building to the entrance back behind it. Once you get in there you then have to get your vitals taken by a guy who looked more like a bouncer or security guard than a medical professional. Then you get to take a seat and wait for them to get around to you. Yeah I know all ER’s are like this. Their main waiting room is about the size of a matchbox and has a TV in it playing some kids show or movie at full volume – I assume to mask the sound of someone coughing death all over you as you sit in the petri dish. They should call this room the incubation chamber, not a waiting room.

Anyway, when they finally DID get her back to a bed, she saw the respiratory therapist and such all before ever seeing her nurse. It seems to me that once you get to a bed in an ER, their goal – besides trying to not kill you – would be to get you treated and out of the way for the next pathetic soul to get treatment. But here, I think they charge your insurance by the minute. The nurse was nowhere to be seen and discharge was a nurse’s visit away since she’d already seen all the “important” people. For you nurses, I don’t mean to say you aren’t important. In fact, I have nothing but major respect for what you go through and how little credit you get for it. In this instance, and in this ER, it would appear that the nurse she needed to see is more of a clerk and counselor. Anyway, the nurse kept her waiting so long that the respiratory therapist had enough time to come back and check her again. Sarah finally had to light a fire under them to get things moving since Nathan kept waking up crying because it was the middle of the night and he wasn’t in his bed yet.

The ER here is a private company. This isn’t anything new. But for a private company, this facility seemed pretty government-run. Disorganized, lazy employees. Maybe it’s just the night shift. Either way, I don’t want to go back there.

Entry filed under: 1356.

June & Ward had it right

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori Dillon  |  September 26, 2009 at 10:35 am

    You have a talent for expressing yourself! I’m glad you finally got the diagnosis – even if you already knew what it was. This sounds almost like an episode of “House” from the patient’s pint of view!
    If this is how health care is run now, if the government gets control of it, we might as well not bother to get treatment. Have you ever been to a gavernment office for anything? I think it’s a plan for the euthenization of the country-we’ll all just die while waiting for treatment.

    Reply
  • 2. wilsonjohns30111  |  April 8, 2016 at 7:27 am

    da eu nu te cred cai mix eu cred ca ii playlist……heh Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Things I have said…

  • Uhh.. What are you doing? July 4, 2006
    So I was staying with a friend when the family and I went to SoCal on a trip. My friends were gracious enough to let us stay in their bed while they slept on the couch. One night around 2 or so, my buddy got up and had to go to the bathroom. Forgetting that he had let us stay in their bedroom, he came waltzing back into their bedroom. (No, we weren’t “in the […]
    andrewchristensen
  • My son’s friend’s feet stink! July 3, 2006
    So I was staying overnight with the parent’s of a friend when I was on a trip a while back. Unfortunately, I inherited some of the worst parts of my father – mainly foot stank. So, I was at their house in the evening after a long day of being trapped in my shoes. I slipped my shoes off and placed them next to the desk in the bedroom they were letting me stay […]
    andrewchristensen
  • About 3 minutes older than July 3, 2006
    I came home the other day to find a flyer stuffed in my door frame from a local politician. I don’t like people coming to my door to sell stuff. It’s just rude. But then to have a professional liar try to come and convince me that he’s the guy to vote for, give me a break. Not only was he from the wrong party (I typically align myself with one side of the ai […]
    andrewchristensen
  • When hindsight is consistently 20/20… July 3, 2006
    it’s time to pull your head out of your butt.
    andrewchristensen
  • Fat-ass thinks I’m cute! July 1, 2006
    My friend Kendall and I were flying to San Diego for a business trip and we had to take off in one of those prop-job planes out of our rinky-dink airport here is Bellingham. So we get on this plane whose seats are barely wider than one of Paris Hilton’s thighs and Kendall and I are a couple full size fat-asses. We were seated next to each other on one side, […]
    andrewchristensen

