Frustrated, Angry and Annoyed

October 14, 2007 at 11:51 pm 1 comment

It’s nearly midnight here and I have just arrived home from a long day on the road to see the Seahawks play against the New Orleans Saints at the Seahawks ahem Qwest Stadium. This was my first visit to the stadium I have heard referred to as the finest stadium in the NFL. I expected much. To a degree I was not disappointed. The building is cool. The seats are very comfortable, even the end zone seats (not bleachers) were good and we could see the field really well. Plus, there were oodles (yes oodles) of concession establishments packed into the building at every level so as to keep the food flying and the booze flowing. I didn’t have to stand in a line for more than a couple minutes. Bravo stadium designers and concession operators: Bravo!

However, my first visit was tainted by a lackluster and downright dreadful performance by the team I have grown up with. It was so poorly performed, you would think it was just a filming for a soap opera or b-rate, straight to DVD, film about some slacker that grows a pair and decides to try to play the game only to find out that losing builds character. So, I have a message for a bunch of people.

To the offensive line and coaching staff of the Seahawks:
Something is wrong. I think you know it. Shaun Alexander’s golden touch has turned to lead. He can’t take hits anymore. He can’t find the holes. He seems to like to duck into the brick walls that the defense throws up rather than dodge around them. It’s like he has developed tunnel vision and can only run one way. What is he, a 8 or 9 year veteran all-pro player? I think he may have become dead weight. The 3rd year boy Weaver got more yardage than Alexander. But the offensive problems aren’t all Alexander. It appeared as though the offense was scattered and seemed leaderless. Someone needs to take charge. I hope Hasselbeck gets better at this role.

To the defensive line and the coaching staff of the Seahawks:
Get it together! We used to have a phenomenal defense. Our opponents used to see a lot of 3-and-outs. Not anymore. Too many times, especially when things looked dire for the boys in blue and green, one of them would stand out from the pack of player and start raising his hands to get the crowd to raise the roof and distract the team. Ah the 12th man. I think this has become a crutch. Just 2 years ago it seemed the 12th man was an effective tool, causing false starts and general confusion for the opposing teams. Those were the glory days. However, a good defense is only as good as the 11 men on the field. If you can’t do your jobs without the 12th man, then retire. Professional football defensive players should not be reliant upon a crowd of onlookers to do their jobs. We are glad to help, but if you can’t perform without the assistance of our heckles then you are no good to the team.

To the (in)famous 12th Man:
Grow up! Good God! I was at local fair a month ago to see the races and demolition derby. There were fewer drunken rednecks at the races than at the football game tonight (proportionally of course). I was surrounded by them. Everyone was like Barney on The Simpsons. I could not believe the shear volume of crap spewing from the mouths of the jerks around me. One guy was drowning almost everyone else out with his reverberating “look at me, I’m a jackass” voice. Somehow he thought that the players were going to hear him and even give two turds what he thinks. The 12th Man is supposed to provide noise and support for their team. Simply screaming at the top of your lungs to bitch about the way they are playing is not only foolish but annoying. I had to go buy a $3.00 package of gummy candies and shove one in my ear because of this guy and his merry pack of drunken Neanderthals. Yes, I put a gummy candy in my ear. They gave me a headache and I didn’t have ear plugs. Anyway, the point is have FUN at the game and find ways of being loud WITH the crowd, not over the crowd.

And finally,

To NBC:
Get some better equipment. At the beginning of the game, the fancy camera that soars over the field on wires and provides incredible views for home viewers, simply burned up and dropped to the field. This may have been the most entertaining part of the game unfortunately, but it did delay the game quite a bit and deprived the home viewers and even stadium attendees of some really nice angles and views of the game. Those of us that foolishly didn’t think to bring binoculars were having to look at the screen to see the details of the play that just happened. Those views would have been much better had the camera been running. For a cool picture of what happened, click here.

Well, I have said what’s on my mind. Not that this will ever leave the cozy confines of the soggy Bellingham community and make it’s way to the targets of my rantings. This all being said, I will probably try to go to a game again next year. Hopefully we will actually win that game….

Entry filed under: 1356. Tags: , , , , , , .

Want to help someone? Pet Peeve – Im’ers Listen Up!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. John  |  October 15, 2007 at 9:39 am

    If you really put gummy worms in your ear and didnt take a picture thats sad…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Things I have said…

  • Uhh.. What are you doing? July 4, 2006
    So I was staying with a friend when the family and I went to SoCal on a trip. My friends were gracious enough to let us stay in their bed while they slept on the couch. One night around 2 or so, my buddy got up and had to go to the bathroom. Forgetting that he had let us stay in their bedroom, he came waltzing back into their bedroom. (No, we weren’t “in the […]
    andrewchristensen
  • My son’s friend’s feet stink! July 3, 2006
    So I was staying overnight with the parent’s of a friend when I was on a trip a while back. Unfortunately, I inherited some of the worst parts of my father – mainly foot stank. So, I was at their house in the evening after a long day of being trapped in my shoes. I slipped my shoes off and placed them next to the desk in the bedroom they were letting me stay […]
    andrewchristensen
  • About 3 minutes older than July 3, 2006
    I came home the other day to find a flyer stuffed in my door frame from a local politician. I don’t like people coming to my door to sell stuff. It’s just rude. But then to have a professional liar try to come and convince me that he’s the guy to vote for, give me a break. Not only was he from the wrong party (I typically align myself with one side of the ai […]
    andrewchristensen
  • When hindsight is consistently 20/20… July 3, 2006
    it’s time to pull your head out of your butt.
    andrewchristensen
  • Fat-ass thinks I’m cute! July 1, 2006
    My friend Kendall and I were flying to San Diego for a business trip and we had to take off in one of those prop-job planes out of our rinky-dink airport here is Bellingham. So we get on this plane whose seats are barely wider than one of Paris Hilton’s thighs and Kendall and I are a couple full size fat-asses. We were seated next to each other on one side, […]
    andrewchristensen

