No more hard butter

July 1, 2006 at 8:29 am 2 comments

Attention restauranteurs!! You have a nice restaurant with over-priced fancy food that people will pay for because it’s a nice place to eat. I too enjoy going out to a fancy restaurant on occasion (fat guy at a restaurant, go figure). But I have a tip for you. Ditch the hard butter. That is one of the most annoying things about some restaurants. They usually serve some really nice bread to go with your meal as an appetizer and then they put this ice cold dish in front of you with pretty little flower shaped rocks of frozen butter. Let me ask: What’s the freakin point??? You can’t spread that? I have come to the conclusion that these little hard cream jems are merely for decoration. They serve no purpose unless you are expected to spear them with your fork and nibble on them like a rat on a Corn Nut.

Think about it. Giving a person hard butter to spread on their bread is like giving a painter a block of the hard watercolor paint and then expecting him to be able to push that block around the canvas with a brush and some how magically end up with a painting.

There are some restaurants that got it right and that is why people go there time and again regardless of how nice they want to dine. Black Angus (Stuart Anderson’s) and The Keg to name a couple. Granted these aren’t the high class, fine-dining like Prime in Las Vegas (another hard butter |:( restaurant), but they still serve good food and they put a little dish in front of you with real softened butter. How hard is this to accomplish? It certainly has to be easier than making little flower shaped butter.

After all, how satisfied or happy with my meal do you expect me to be if I have to start off my meal frustrated because I have to buy a $5 cup of coffee that I won’t even drink just to have something warm to put on top of the little butter flower to melt it down to a spreadable point? Then I have to look like a freak in the middle of the restaurant trying to balance a potentially crotch-scorching cup of burnt water on top of a wad of butter. You can definitely expect me to not return.

If you own or run a restaurant, I thank you for your consideration.

If you know of restaurants that serve it right or wrong, I invite you to comment on this post and enter the restaurant name, city – butter style.

Thanks!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Don’t get me started! Being my wife’s man

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jay  |  July 1, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    hey, yeah, I know a couple of restaurants in Temecula, CA. Mimi’s Cafe for one, and also Marie Callendar’s. I also like the way the Italian restaurants there do it. they give you some great bread and put olive oil and balsamic vinegar on a saucer to dip it in. it’s fabulous.

    Reply
  • 2. Darrel  |  August 1, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    You are wrong!

    I go out of my way to spread and eat hard butter because for me I know it’s fresh and tastes better. It’s also a texture thing for me.

    So cold butter on cold things and warm butter on warm things.

    I think most of the bread served in restaurants is cold but if you get hot bread, by all means use soft REAL butter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Things I have said…

  • Uhh.. What are you doing? July 4, 2006
    So I was staying with a friend when the family and I went to SoCal on a trip. My friends were gracious enough to let us stay in their bed while they slept on the couch. One night around 2 or so, my buddy got up and had to go to the bathroom. Forgetting that he had let us stay in their bedroom, he came waltzing back into their bedroom. (No, we weren’t “in the […]
    andrewchristensen
  • My son’s friend’s feet stink! July 3, 2006
    So I was staying overnight with the parent’s of a friend when I was on a trip a while back. Unfortunately, I inherited some of the worst parts of my father – mainly foot stank. So, I was at their house in the evening after a long day of being trapped in my shoes. I slipped my shoes off and placed them next to the desk in the bedroom they were letting me stay […]
    andrewchristensen
  • About 3 minutes older than July 3, 2006
    I came home the other day to find a flyer stuffed in my door frame from a local politician. I don’t like people coming to my door to sell stuff. It’s just rude. But then to have a professional liar try to come and convince me that he’s the guy to vote for, give me a break. Not only was he from the wrong party (I typically align myself with one side of the ai […]
    andrewchristensen
  • When hindsight is consistently 20/20… July 3, 2006
    it’s time to pull your head out of your butt.
    andrewchristensen
  • Fat-ass thinks I’m cute! July 1, 2006
    My friend Kendall and I were flying to San Diego for a business trip and we had to take off in one of those prop-job planes out of our rinky-dink airport here is Bellingham. So we get on this plane whose seats are barely wider than one of Paris Hilton’s thighs and Kendall and I are a couple full size fat-asses. We were seated next to each other on one side, […]
    andrewchristensen

